I really don’t want to be the naysayer on a product that has such massive backing! Having said that my first reaction to Google Wave was WTF and it went nowhere, and although G+ is far more familiar I’m not sure it adds much to the genre at this stage! If you are a Googlephile then perhaps this will be what you’ve been waiting for but for someone who doesn’t use Gmail, Google Chat, Picassa or G Calendar, the proposition looks somewhat less compelling, especially as the G+ menu launches most stuff in separate browser windows. Given that 80% of the Australian population is already engaged with Facebook can they really be bothered to switch or use it in addition?!

Even if  the Big G could write an app to suck all my information and friends out of FB effortlessly and hook seamlessly into MS Exchange I’m not sure I would want to abdicate another part of my online life to the Big G! I’m looking forward to a new brand that can challenge both G and FB and its probably out there, we just haven’t found it yet!

The 800 pound gorilla in the room, Google has set its sights on dominating the world of advertising and threatens to undermine the advertising industry, pushing to manage direct relationships with clients and sidelining agencies in pursuit of global domination and profit. So maybe subliminally I am willing it to fail…